Getting back into the swing of things

Image

After the holidays I always feel a but out of it… oh and I think I got a case of the stomach flu/food poisoning about a week ago. But it is 2014 and I can’t believe it but I hope this is a good year. Last couple years were tough ones and I have a good feeling about 2014.

So after all that I needed to get back into my routine. I decided to do a circuit instead of doing my usual jog followed by weights. So I warmed up on the treadmill and then did 2 mins of running then 2 mins of some form of exercise and then back to the treadmill for another 2 mins. I did squats, crunches, push ups, bicep curls, calf raises, tricep dips and etc. I did a total of about 45 mins and I got a decent full body workout. The distance I covered on the treadmill was just under 2.5 miles. Then I had a nice session with my foam roller aka as my bff.

Oh I decided to workout in my compression socks which I have not done before and it felt nice. Do you guys run in your compression socks? Do you notice a difference? What I did notice was I didn’t feel like my calves were bouncing around as much. I have pretty big muscular calves (I always have a heard time finding boots that fit properly damn calves! but I must say they look nice in heals haha) and I felt they felt nice and secured… like a good sports bra haha.

I really wish this cold weather would go away but realistically that isn’t happening anytime soon. We have had some pretty cold weather here. Last week the lowest was -25 C but felt like -35 C (-31 F) with the wind chill (burrrrrrrr)!! Crazy crazy weather. And we had tons of snow yesterday so running outside is not an option. I really wish I could run outside as its so much more interesting than the treadmill but oh well you have to make do with what you have.

As for the job search… I got offered the position I went for the 2nd interview for but it just wasn’t for me so I had to turn down the position. So the search continues.

My workout was accompanied by the usual suspect šŸ™‚

Image

Image

8 thoughts on “Getting back into the swing of things

  1. OMG your kitty! Too adorable! My cat has tried to hop on the treadmill while I was on it (running!) and she quickly learned that that was a bad idea. Luckily she was fine. I don’t wear long compression socks while running very often. Mostly because I just don’t look good in them (with my short, stubby legs). I wear the low trainer compression socks while running though- they don’t compress much though.

Leave a Reply

